make a gift
facebook page twitter profile instagram page search icon

SUA Congratulates its National Merit Students for 22-23

Colleen Lake

Saint Ursula Academy is proud to announce seven students recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation for the 2022-2023 school year.  
Colleen Lake of Pleasant Ridge earned semifinalist status based on her score on the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Qualifying Test. 
Colleen was among the 16,000 students of more than 1.5-million nationwide who entered the competition by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Qualifying Test last fall. The semifinalists represent less than 1% of U.S. high school seniors and include the highest-scoring entrants in each state.
Six students earned National Merit Commended status. That means they scored in the top 5% of U.S. high school seniors on the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Qualifying Test.
Rose Danenhauer of Mt. Adams
Elizabeth Graham of Anderson Township
Ava Hassel of Colerain Township
Catherine Leahy of Clifton
Ave Wiehe of Milford
Hana Winchester of Colerain
‘We are incredibly proud of these young women, whose commitment to their academics is evident by this accomplishment,” said Dr. Mari Thomas, Saint Ursula Academy principal. “What’s as important is to recognize that each one of these young women is also a caring, confident leader committed to living Saint Ursula’s mission to go out and build a better world. We can’t wait to see what these special women accomplish in the future!”
Laura Roman, SUA Director of Counseling, added “These honors are a direct reflection of SUA's ability to keep bright minds challenged and performing at their best."
Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $ 30 million that will be offered in the spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Colleen must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of competition. Over 90% of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. 

Photo L-R: Ava Hassel, Ava Wiehe, Elizabeth Graham, Catherine Leahy, Hana Winchester, Rose Danenhauer, and Colleen Lake.